Skip to main content

History & Philosophy of ESCs



1 – Edinburg 11 – White Settlement
2 – Corpus Christi 12 – Waco
3 – Victoria 13 – Austin
4 – Houston 14 – Abilene
5 – Beaumont 15 – San Angelo
6 – Huntsville 16 – Amarillo
7 – Kilgore 17 – Lubbock
8 – Pittsburg 18 – Midland
9 – Wichita Falls 19 – El Paso
10 – Richardson 20 – San Antonio
Texas System of Education Service Centers

In 1967 the Texas Legislature established the Regional Education Service Centers by dividing the state of Texas into 20 diverse regions with each center located geographically to provide services and support to school districts within its boundaries. In North Texas, the Region 9 Education Service Center (Region 9 ESC), located in Wichita Falls, provides consulting services to area school districts to help them improve student performance, increase the efficiency and effectiveness of local school operations, and implement statewide initiatives and regulations. 

Region 9 ESC is an organization of professional educators and support specialists dedicated to modeling the principles of visionary leadership within the confines of a servant’s heart, while demonstrating the warrior spirit of deliberate action and sustained effort.  The ESC personnel view the greatest compliment received in client satisfaction surveys to be one which articulates that the Region 9 staff is viewed as an extension of the district’s “school family”; therefore, our goal is to always focus on the schools and their needs within a supportive climate built on a relationship of mutual trust.