Skip to main content

Region 9 Teacher of the Year Awards Announced

Posted Date: 08/02/2019

Thumbnail Image for Article 36033

Hayli Castillo, a Project Lead the Way teacher at Graham Junior High School, Graham ISD, has been named the 2020 Region 9 Secondary Teacher of the Year and Kevin Hunter, an elementary social studies teacher at Shive Elementary, Vernon ISD, has been named the 2020 Region 9 Elementary Teacher of the Year.  The announcement was made at the Regional Awards Luncheon at Region 9 ESC on Thursday, August 1st where all districts’ nominees from the Region 9 schools were honored. 


Secondary TOY Elementary TOY

Other teachers recognized at the event were:  Tessa Boenisch, 4th grade Writing teacher at Woodland Elementary, Graham ISD; Karla Chappell, 5th grade Reading teacher, John G. Tower Elementary, Burkburnett ISD; Britney Prickett, 4th grade English teacher at Crockett Elementary, Wichita Falls ISD; Randi Fry, Advanced Science teacher at Jacksboro High School, Jacksboro ISD; Jill Morris, Special Education Teacher, Burkburnett Middle School, Burkburnett ISD and Deborah Pepper, ESL and PAL teacher, Wichita Falls High School, Wichita Falls ISD. 


The regional winners will be honored at a statewide awards ceremony and luncheon scheduled for Friday, October 25, 2019, in Austin. 


Both winners have been submitted to the state for the semifinalists judging.  Two panels of judges – one for elementary and another for secondary will meet in Austin to review the written applications of the semifinalists and select three finalists for Elementary Teacher of the Year and three for Secondary Teacher of the Year.  Finalists’ superintendents and the Education Service Centers will be notified, and TASA (Texas Association of School Administrators) will distribute a news release announcing the finalists in September, 2019. 


The final judging is scheduled for September, 2019. The six finalists will be invited to Austin to be interviewed by a panel of judges composed of representatives of educational administrator associations, a member of the State Board of Education and previous Texas Teachers of the Year.  The panel will choose the two state winners and designate one to represent Texas in the National Teacher of the Year Contest.  The six finalists’ superintendents will be notified of the outcome and TASA will distribute a news release announcing the winners the week following the interviews.


Please contact Debbie Cummings, Coordinator, Teacher of the Year Program at Region 9 ESC at (940) 322-6928 for more information.