Skip to main content

Region 9 Announces Teacher of the Year Recipients

Posted Date: 08/04/2020

Region 9 Announces Teacher of the Year Recipients


Sarah Kidd, a Math teacher at Graham High School, Graham ISD, has been named the 2021 Region 9 Secondary Teacher of the Year and Hayley Bishop, an Elementary Art/Music teacher at Nocona Elementary, Nocona ISD, has been named the 2021 Region 9 Elementary Teacher of the Year.  The announcement was made today at each district. Region 9 staff made school visits last Thursday and today where all nominees were honored. 

Other teachers recognized at their district were:  Jill Hughes, 5th grade Reading & Writing teacher at Bowie Elementary, Bowie ISD; Courtney Kittrell, 4th grade Reading/English LA teacher at Ben Franklin Elementary, Wichita Falls ISD; Shelly Koch, 2nd-3rd  grade Math Interventionist at Central Elementary, Vernon ISD; Melanie Lowe, K-2nd grade English LA & Reading teacher at Newcastle School, Newcastle ISD; Brooke McCurry, 5th grade Math teacher at Jacksboro Elementary, Jacksboro ISD; Kelly Qualls, Early Childhood Special Education teacher at Pioneer Elementary, Graham ISD; Scott Ramsey, 6th grade Math/Science teacher at Petrolia Elementary, Petrolia CISD; Karissa Rohmer, 2nd grade teacher at Midway School, Midway ISD; Tina Saravane, Librarian/English LA teacher at I.C. Evans, Burkburnett ISD; Brandon Carpenter, 6th grade self-contained, 7th grade Math teacher at Midway School, Midway ISD; Debby Ford, Honors Algebra II & Calculus teacher at Wichita Falls High School, Wichita Falls ISD; Lindsey Hartman, 6th-8th grade Theater Arts teacher at Burkburnett Middle School, Burkburnett ISD, Tabatha Jones, Math teacher at Bowie High School, Bowie ISD; Ron Norman, Film/Broadcast/Audio/Animation teacher at Nocona High School, Nocona ISD; Chantilly Sweet, Special Education Resource teacher at Vernon Middle School, Vernon ISD and  Savanah Wheeler, English teacher at Petrolia High School, Petrolia CISD. 

TASA will be announcing the 2021 Texas Teachers of the Year at the Virtual TASA/TASB Convention being held September 30- October 2. They hope to celebrate the Texas Regional Teachers of the Year with a LIVE luncheon and awards ceremony during TASA Midwinter Conference in January 2021.


Please contact Debbie Cummings, Coordinator, Teacher of the Year Program at Region 9 ESC at (940) 322-6928 for more information.